According to recent market researches, nearly 30% of Americans say they’re trying to avoid gluten, up from 25.5% three years ago, and this is among consumers who have no symptoms of celiac or gluten sensitivity but who believe gluten-free food to be better for digestive health.
Gluten in Spices
Some anti-caking agents are made from wheat flour or starch, both of which contain gluten. Anti-caking agents prevent clumping and improve storage, but they compromise the integrity of products labeled all natural.
But a more serious problem is gluten sensitivity, believed by some to be as high as 50% of the population. Spices and herbs do not naturally contain gluten but many seasoning blends are often combined with a carrier agent. The carrier can include salt, sugar, lactose, whey powder, starches, or flours, which can cause reactions in hypersensitive people.
The United States Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act requires any products that contain wheat flour or wheat starch to be declared on food labels.
We are a gluten-free facility. What does that mean? It means that all our products are certified to be 100% gluten-free, and there is no danger of cross contamination. Choosing spices from companies that have good manufacturing practices, are willing to have their products certified gluten-free, and maintain stringent food safety and labeling standards are some of the ways you can insure that your product is gluten-free, from start to finish.
Check out some of our gluten free recipes on our Spicely blog!
- New Orleans Style Red Beans and Rice
- Sumac Roasted Brussel Sprouts
- Chickpea Tagine with Quinoa and Harissa